top of page

Christmas Film World Cup 2022: Semi Finals

Updated: Dec 23, 2022

The fever pitch of expectation is now here, a foursome of big hitters have reached the semi finals and now they have the chance to reach the ultimate stage:

Semi Final 2 - 23/12/22

It has finally happened, Die Hard has been defeated before a final appearance. One of the narrowest of margins sees Bill Murray move on to the final to face Will Ferrell.



Die Hard


Die Hard has always made the final, in 2010 they triumphed over Elf at this stage before succumbing to Scrooged in the final. 2014 saw them send Love Actually home before once again coming away second best, that time to It's A Wonderful Life. Finally in 2018 they saw off Gremlins in the semi final before defeating Home Alone to take the crown.

Scrooged was victorious over Love Actually in the 2010 semi final before lifting the crown. Die Hard avenged that defeat by eliminating Scrooged at the Quarter Final stage. Bill Murray struck back in 2018 only to lose to Home Alone in the semi final.

The head to head is tied one each, there is literally nothing to separate these two but surely Die Hard has the edge.

Semi Final 1 - 22/12/22

A late rally from Home Alone almost saw this one going all the way but in the end Elf had built enough of a lead over the day to fend off the surge. It was a hard fought contest but Elf has finally reached a final for the first time. Home Alone came very close to repeating a final appearance after the 2018 tilt. Will Ferrell and Zooey Deschanel have a day of rest before they face a previous champion to attempt to lift the crown!



Home Alone


The last time these two met was the 2014 quarter final when Elf triumphed.

Will Ferrell reached the semi final in 2010, being defeated by the losing finalist Die Hard and then a semi final defeat to eventual winner It's A Wonderful Life in 2014. A shock defeat to Muppets Christmas Carol in Last 16 in 2018 has interrupted a relentless semi final standard. Elf has been backed heavily from the outset this year and now he needs to come good.

Home Alone made the quarter final in both 2010 and 2014, losing to winner Scrooged in 2010 and then Elf in 2014 before reaching the final in 2018. This is a show down that sees two first seeds locking horns, Home Alone looking for a second final and Elf hoping to make the final for the first time.


Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page